Story   Photographer   Editor   Student/Intern   Assistant   Job/Item

 Front Page
 Member Index
 Latest Headlines
 Special Features
 'Fun Pix'
 Message Board
 Educate Yourself
 Equipment Profiles
 Classified Ads
 Monthly Clip Contest
 Annual Contest
 Current Issue
 Back Issues
 Members Area
 "The Guide"
About Us:
 About SportsShooter
 Contact Us
 Terms & Conditions

Sign in:
Members log in here with your user name and password to access the your admin page and other special features.



|| News Item: Posted 2002-03-30

And the Winners Are...
By Robert Hanashiro

Tommy Metthe of Abilene Reporter-News was the big winner in the 4th Annual Sports Shooter Contest.

Metthe's photo of a diver basking in a ray of light during the national championships was awarded "Sports Picture of the Year." Metthe wins a CoolPix 5000 donated by Nikon and a Microtech Firewire card reader donated by Penn Camera.

Photo by Ron Taniwaki

Photo by Ron Taniwaki
Dave Cone, a student at the University of Florida, was awarded first place in the student portfolio competition. Cone wins a scholarship to the annual Rich Clarkson Sports Workshop donated by Nikon and Rich Clarkson & Associates.

The contest was judged on March 6 at Nikon's Torrance offices. The judging panel included Sports Illustrated's Peter Read Miller, Wally Skalij, the Los Angeles Times, Rick Rickman, Newsport, Ronal Taniwaki, Nikon, Brad Mangin, a freelance sports shooter and Robert Hanashiro from Sports Shooter and USA TODAY.

You can see the winning photos on the Sports Shooter Archives, hosted by Brad Mangin Photography at:

Best Sports Action.
1st - Mark J. Terrill, the Associated Press
Canon G2 (Donated by Canon)

2nd - John Dunn, For The Sporting News
Lightware GripIt Pack and GripStrip Starter Kit (Donated by Lightware)

3rd - David Ahntholz, The State Journal-Register
Long Lens Case (Donated by Kinesis)


Best No Ball.
1st - Donald Miralle, Getty Images.
Lowepro Roller III (Donated by Lowepro)

2nd - Sol Neelman, The Oregonian
Versa-Flex MU1417.06 Case (Donated by Versa-Flex)

3rd - Brian Peterson, The Star Tribune
Lexar flash card and 2 card wallets (Donated by Roberts Distributors)


Best No Pro/No College.
1st - Thomas Boyd, The Register-Guard
MultiMax radio remotes (Donated by LPA Designs)

2nd - Marc Piscotty, The Rocky Mountain News
Microtech 256 flash card, Microtech Firewire card reader, 3 memory storage cases (Donated by Penn Camera)

3rd - Chris Faytok, The Star Ledger
Microtech 128 meg card and Microtech Firewire card reader (Penn Camera)


Best College Portfolio.
1st - Dave Cone, University of Florida
Scholarship to the Rich Clarkson Sports Photography Workshop
(Donated by Rich Clarkson & Associates and Nikon)

2nd - Kohjiro Kinno, San Jose State University
Lowepro Roller 2 (Donated by Lowepro)

3rd - Danny Moloshok, University of Michigan
Lexmark Printer (Donated by Roberts Distributors)


Judges' Awards.
Nick Laham, Getty Images
Amy Sancetta, The Associated Press
Jill Richards, Fresno State University
Max Whittaker, Appeal-Democrat
Delly Carr, Sportshoot
(Giftpack donated by Fujifilm Commercial Imaging Division)


Sports Photo of the Year.
Tommy Metthe, Abilene Reporter-News
Nikon CoolPix 5000 (donated by Nikon); Microtech Firewire card reader (Donated by Penn Camera)

The Sports Shooter Contest judging was sponsored by Nikon, Versa-Flex (thanks Larry Nolan), Samy's Camera (thanks Louis Feldman) and Fujifilm (thanks Scott Ridgway).

NOTE TO ALL WINNERS: Please e-mail me as soon as possible to confirm your eligibility. Please reply to this e-mail and include your mailing address (you want your prize don't you?), publication you shot the winning image for, whether it was shot on film or digital and what camera system you used.

Sponsor Links:
Lexar Media:
Roberts Distributors:
LPA Designs:
Rich Clarkson & Associates:
Penn Camera:
Samy's Camera:
Kinesis Gear:


Contents copyright 2020, Do not republish without permission.
Need an experienced freelancer in the Greater Albany, NY area? Jenn March ::..