Story   Photographer   Editor   Student/Intern   Assistant   Job/Item

SportsShooter.com: The Online Resource for Sports Photography

Contents:
 Front Page
 Member Index
 Latest Headlines
 Special Features
 'Fun Pix'
 Message Board
 Polls
 Educate Yourself
 Equipment Profiles
 Bookshelf
 my.SportsShooter
 Classified Ads
 Workshop
 Sponsors
 Special Offers
 Our Store
Contests:
 Monthly Clip Contest
 Student Contest
 Annual Contest
 Rules/Info
Newsletter:
 Current Issue
 Back Issues
 Subscribe
Members:
 Members Area
 "The Guide"
 Join
About Us:
 About SportsShooter
 Contact Us
 Terms & Conditions


Sign in:
Members log in here with your user name and password to access the your admin page and other special features.

Name:



Password:







||
SportsShooter.com: Member Message Board

Scam????
Konstandinos Goumenidis, Photographer
Bay Area | CA | USA | Posted: 8:38 PM on 09.07.09
->> Hey there, I had a classified up that didn't necessarily sell anything so I wanted to warn you folks that are selling things if you get an email from some one like this to be careful. It sounds like a scam or spam could be wrong but just wanted to warn you:

Message from: Britain
Britain's email address: Britain_s@yahoo.com
Britain's phone number: n/a
Message from Britain:

Dear seller
Am using this opportunity to purchased item from you by answer my question below:

Q 1: How long you have been owned the item you are willing to sell for me?

Q 2: Hope the item still available for sale with good condition state?

Q 3: What is the final asking price you are willing to sell the item for me?

Q 4: Let me have attach of the picture of the item you want to sell for me?

Q 5: Do you able to accept Certified Check or Personal Check as a mode of the payment?

Q6: Can we trust you on this transaction?

Q 7: Can you send me your full contact information to mail out the payment for you. Hope to hear from you soon with good answer to my question.
Best Regards

-------------------------------------------------------
Sent from IP Address: 209.107.204.7
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
 This post is:  Informative (0) | Funny (0) | Huh? (0) | Off Topic (0) | Inappropriate (0) |   Definitions

Adam Heller, Photographer
Grafenwöhr | DE | | Posted: 8:51 PM on 09.07.09
->> Konstandinos,

it is distinctly a scam message. I'd post classifieds as members only from now on.

-Adam
 This post is:  Informative (0) | Funny (0) | Huh? (0) | Off Topic (0) | Inappropriate (0) |   Definitions

Patrick Fallon, Student/Intern, Photographer
Columbia | MO | USA | Posted: 8:54 PM on 09.07.09
->> If you have to ask, its a scam.

Rather than everyone else having to chime in again about how this is a scam.. just read these :)

http://www.sportsshooter.com/message_display.html?tid=31370
http://www.sportsshooter.com/message_display.html?tid=31335
http://www.sportsshooter.com/message_display.html?tid=30085
http://www.sportsshooter.com/message_display.html?tid=30861
http://www.sportsshooter.com/message_display.html?tid=31233
http://www.sportsshooter.com/message_display.html?tid=28941
http://www.sportsshooter.com/message_display.html?tid=33967

From Before: "About now Chuck Liddy will make some sort of joke.. followed by George Bridges, then Steven E. Frischling will say a few words, post a link to his blog perhaps, then 5 others will make puns about Steven always linking to his blog, fish smelling, etc.."

That is all.
 This post is:  Informative (0) | Funny (3) | Huh? (0) | Off Topic (0) | Inappropriate (0) |   Definitions

Konstandinos Goumenidis, Photographer
Bay Area | CA | USA | Posted: 8:59 PM on 09.07.09
->> yeah i posted it as a warning
 This post is:  Informative (0) | Funny (0) | Huh? (0) | Off Topic (0) | Inappropriate (0) |   Definitions

Nick Morris, Photographer
San Marcos | CA | United States | Posted: 9:21 PM on 09.07.09
->> I got one too about two minutes after I posted.
 This post is:  Informative (0) | Funny (0) | Huh? (0) | Off Topic (0) | Inappropriate (0) |   Definitions

Andrew Knapik, Photographer, Assistant
Lincoln Park | MI | USA | Posted: 9:37 PM on 09.07.09
->> I got one too. Deleted.
 This post is:  Informative (0) | Funny (0) | Huh? (0) | Off Topic (0) | Inappropriate (0) |   Definitions

Marc Browning, Photographer
Wichita | KS | | Posted: 9:48 PM on 09.07.09
->> Funny I just got the same one for my listing to.
Thanks Marc
 This post is:  Informative (0) | Funny (0) | Huh? (0) | Off Topic (0) | Inappropriate (0) |   Definitions

Add your comments...
If you'd like to add your comments to this thread, use this form. You need to be an active (paying) member of SportsShooter.com in order to post messages to the system.

NOTE: If you would like to report a problem you've found within the SportsShooter.com website, please let us know via the 'Contact Us' form, which alerts us immediately. It is not guaranteed that a member of the staff will see your message board post.
Thread Title: Scam????
Thread Started By: Konstandinos Goumenidis
Message:
Member Login:
Password:


|| Sponsor Special Deals

We BUY & TRADE you OLD Gear
Available from: Adorama Camera | Price: $0.00
Notes: We all have some cameras & lenses sitting around collecting dust right?...Or you work at a Newspaper that has downsized?...What to do with your excess photographic equipment? Adorama's Used Dept is looking for your used gear to purchase or take in trade. Contact me directly jsnyder@adorama.com or 1-800-223-2500 X2435 and I can fill you in on the details. Cash in your pocket is better than sitting on the shelf, right?
-- More Info --



Return to -->
Message Board Main Index
Is your name on THIS list? ::..