

| Sign in: |
| Members log in here with your user name and password to access the your admin page and other special features. |
|
|
|

|
|| SportsShooter.com: Member Message Board

Sounds like a scam to me
 
George F. Lee, Photo Editor, Photographer
 |
Honolulu | HI | USA | Posted: 3:59 PM on 12.12.05 |
->> I have an item posted for sale on our trusted classified board and I got an email that went something like this..........
"Thanks George for the response,I am okay with the price and it's condition.I am presently in London and will have my client in the US issue you payment.
My payment and shipping method for the (AF-S Nikkor XXXXX ED-IF II) goes thus,a client of mine is owning me some funds, I will instruct him to issue a check/money order as payment.
You will deduct the cost of the (AF-S Nikkor XXXXXX ED-IF II ) and the remaining balance will be sent to My Shipper via Western Union Money Tranfer for immediately Shipping Arrangment for it from your location.Upon receiving the remaining funds my shippers' director will be at your location for pickup and shippment.
Do get back to me If this is okay by you with the following informations (Full
Name, Contact Address, Phone Number),inwhich i will forward to my client who will issue payment asap.
Hope to hear from you Soonest.
Best Regards."
Do I look like I was born yesterday? BTW, this sender is not a confirmed SS member!
Aloha |
|
 
Josh Thompson, Photographer
 |
Ontario | California | USA | Posted: 4:46 PM on 12.12.05 |
->> Follow one rule when selling over the internet....
Make sure the funds are cleared through your bank BEFORE you ship the item. If the buyer is not OK with that, then don't sell it to them. |
|
 
Rodrigo Pena, Photographer
 |
Palm Desert | CA | USA | Posted: 4:53 PM on 12.12.05 |
| ->> Sounds like a scam to me. Avoid this person like the plague! |
|
 
Louis Lopez, Photographer
 |
Fontana | CA | USA | Posted: 6:16 PM on 12.12.05 |
| ->> In addition to clearing your bank I would wait until it clears their bank as well, ask your bank how to tell when it clears the buyers bank. If it comes back from the buyers bank as no good, your bank will deduct the funds from your account regardless of how long it took to get back to them. Most banks will credit the deposit to your account based on your account status, some will place a hold on the funds usually ten days so the funds clear. |
|
 
Jamm Aquino, Photographer, Student/Intern
 |
Honolulu | HI | usa | Posted: 6:33 PM on 12.12.05 |
| ->> In the words of Cuba Gooding, Jr, "Show me the MOOONEEEEEEYYYY!!!" **dances** |
|
 
 
Lyle Waisman, Photographer
 |
Chicago | IL | USA | Posted: 6:51 PM on 12.12.05 |
->> You should tell him that you will take only Western Union Money Transfer as payment, and see what he says.
I had some one do this to me a while back. I didn't even bother to try to cash the check. I called the bank it was written on, and asked them. It was a fake.
I reported it to the various fraud agencies and never heard from them again.
Great story here about getting back at the scammers:
http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/ |
|
 
Rodrigo Pena, Photographer
 |
Palm Desert | CA | USA | Posted: 3:14 AM on 12.20.05 |
| ->> Lyle, I've never heard that prank before. It sounded so real...I hope it was. Like you said, great story about getting back at scammers. |
|
 
Clark Brooks, Photo Editor, Photographer
 |
Urbana | IL | USA | Posted: 3:46 AM on 12.20.05 |
->> George:
It is a scam that has been around for a long time. Never accept Western Union as form of payment. Do a message board search on the keywords 'Western Union Scam'. You'll see 20 threads on the same subject.
Read this one first -
http://www.sportsshooter.com/message_display.html?tid=13886 |
|
 
Steven E. Frischling, Photographer
 |
New England | | USA | Posted: 9:31 AM on 12.20.05 |
->> George
Will you ship it to my brother in Nigeria? I will pay you in Rupees via a CashGram. There may be 300,000 extra Rupees after the purchase, please convent them to Eurps, place them in a DHL Letter Pack without a signed Customs Form and send it to my Uncle in Denmark.
Wait, that should have been in all CAPS, whoops. |
|
 
Pico van Houtryve, Photographer
 |
Roseville | CA | USA | Posted: 3:36 PM on 07.18.06 |
->> Dear fellow SportsShooters:
1) I was recently nearly the victim of a similar internet scam, which, today, the FBI told me, is a brand-new internet scam targeting photographers.
2) I was emailed to shoot a wedding in August in Bakersfield of all places. The person said he was deaf and lived in the UK and wanted me to shoot his son's wedding at Grace Baptist Church. He said he would cover all expenses.
3) I submitted a bid. He accepted it. He asked me to take my creative fee out and forward the rest of the money from his check via Western Union to his "food caterer." He said he would write me a separate check for the expenses.
4) I received the check, and instead of depositing it, I took it to be verified. (They make money when you deposit their bad check and send them the balance)
5)The check cashing place near my house where I would have sent the money via Western Union told me the cashier's check he sent was a forgery or "bad."
6) I called the church. The woman on the phone said they had no weddings booked in August and they are giving services at a nearby elementray school due to rennovations. She'd also heard from several photographers, already.
7) I took the check and a photocopy of my email correspendence to the FBI.
8) I was told by the FBI, today, this is a new variation on the EBay scam.
9) There is a FBI website where you can report this kind of scam at FBI.gov
10) I read the same scam can be applied to receiving a deposit for a rental.
PLEASE PASS THIS ON TO ANY PHOTOGRAPHER YOU KNOW. WATCH OUT!!!
Best regards, Pico (new member) |
|
 
Delane B. Rouse, Photographer, Photo Editor
 |
Washington | DC | US | Posted: 3:52 PM on 07.18.06 |
->> Pico...unfortunately this is not a NRW scam...it's been around for a few years (at least).
The 1st red flag was simply when the guy "asked me to take my creative fee out and forward the rest of the money from his check via Western Union".
Question: When you purchase a CF card from Penn Camera for $250, do we send them a check for $1000 and ask them to send the remaining $750 to your local plumber for services rendered? Nope.
Have fun. Make pictures.
Delane |
|
 
Kat Woronowicz, Photographer
 |
Oceanside | CA | USA | Posted: 6:38 PM on 07.18.06 |
->> I got this same email from the deaf italian priest! It raised a red flag with me too - but thought I was being paranoid.
I sent him and invoice, and got a similar line about the caterer. I've been out of the country, so I haven't gotten the check, but will know where to stick it when and if and when I do get it!
I'm glad to have y'all watch my back like this! Thanks for the info!
Kat |
|
 
Andrew Wilz, Photographer
 |
Aspen | CO | usa | Posted: 6:46 PM on 07.18.06 |
| ->> sell to ss.com members only from here... and save yourself the hassle... |
|
 
Rob Bradley, Student/Intern, Photographer
 |
Raleigh | NC | USA | Posted: 7:27 PM on 07.18.06 |
| ->> I’m a bank teller, we hear about these things all the time. Ditto on what everyone else has said. I think everybody should start being just as suspicious about "Certified Checks" "Cashiers Checks" and "Money Orders" as they would be about a normal check. They can be forged just as easily and are probably forged more often because of people's false confidence in these "guaranteed" funds. |
|
 
Curtis Darbee, Student/Intern
 |
Lafayette | CA | United States | Posted: 12:47 AM on 07.20.06 |
| ->> I was selling a lens on Sportsshooter.com and i recieved an email concerning it. It was a guy from Australia saying that someone in the states owed him $3000, so he wanted his friend to send me the money. And in return i would send him the lens, and the rest of the money (which would have been around $2000). THought you guys who post classified ads might want to watch out for this. |
|

|| Sponsor Special Deals

We BUY & TRADE you OLD Gear
|
Available from:
Adorama Camera
|
Price: $0.00 |
Notes:
We all have some cameras & lenses sitting around collecting dust right?...Or you work at a Newspaper that has downsized?...What to do with your excess photographic equipment? Adorama's Used Dept is looking for your used gear to purchase or take in trade. Contact me directly jsnyder@adorama.com or 1-800-223-2500 X2435 and I can fill you in on the details. Cash in your pocket is better than sitting on the shelf, right?
|
|
-- More Info -- |
|

Return to --> Message Board Main Index
|