

| Sign in: |
| Members log in here with your user name and password to access the your admin page and other special features. |
|
|
|

|
|| SportsShooter.com: Member Message Board

Picture Stock
 
Jason Hirschfeld, Photographer, Photo Editor
 |
Norfolk | VA | U.S. | Posted: 5:48 PM on 03.06.03 |
| ->> Anybody ever work with 'Picture Stock"? They're a pic agency and I wanted to get some feedback... |
|
 
Jason Hirschfeld, Photographer, Photo Editor
 |
Norfolk | VA | U.S. | Posted: 4:45 PM on 03.08.03 |
| ->> anybody?? |
|
 
Howard Curtis Smith, Photographer
 |
Baldwin | NY | USA | Posted: 5:17 PM on 03.08.03 |
->> Not me.
I just did a Google search for them, and searched four pages deep without a hit. Not a good sign. Google Groups has several hits. A quick read does not sound promising. |
|
 
Michael Pimentel, Photographer
 |
Fremont | CA | USA | Posted: 8:14 PM on 03.11.03 |
| ->> I joined PictureStock.com and paid $$$ for a membership.... They never bought any of my photos plus they never contacted me for upcoming assignments. I will not renew my membership with them once it expires. |
|
 
Charles Chao, Photographer
 |
New York | ny | USA | Posted: 9:46 PM on 03.11.03 |
->> webpage looks a little lame, but for someone like me who has no presspass at all, might be a start. i'm curious to hear others opinions as well.
Thanks |
|
 
Darren Carroll, Photographer
 |
Cedar Creek (Austin) | TX | USA | Posted: 9:54 PM on 03.11.03 |
->> Charles, the "press pass" they issue you, whatever it is, won't be worth the paper it's printed on.
And it appears from Michael's post that they charge you a fee for membership?
Save your money. |
|
 
Jeffrey Haderthauer, Student/Intern, Photographer
 |
Norman | OK | USA | Posted: 12:23 AM on 03.12.03 |
| ->> Sounds scammy... there is a link on the side that encourages you to make big money by promoting their agency and selling memberships... http://www.picturestock.com/ |
|
 
Jason Hirschfeld, Photographer, Photo Editor
 |
Norfolk | VA | U.S. | Posted: 12:47 AM on 03.12.03 |
| ->> FUGGEDDABBOUTIT!!! |
|
 
Clark Brooks, Photographer, Photo Editor
 |
Urbana | IL | USA | Posted: 10:34 AM on 03.12.03 |
->> From their site:
"If a letter on company letterhead is required from Picture Stock, we will gladly draft one up for you. We will require all the information pertaining to the event faxed to us at 905.212.9577 Attention: Press Credentials Department. The letter will then be faxed to the media relations department within 24 hours of receiving your request. A $10.00 administration fee for each letter faxed on your behalf from our press credentials department will be charged to your account."
Scammy as it can get, buds. C'mon charge a photog $10 to submit a credential request on their letterhead. If they don't let you in you loose your ten bill for nothing. $30 presspass fee on top of that???? Let's get real. But their are suckas entering the business every day. |
|
 
Michael Pimentel, Photographer
 |
Fremont | CA | USA | Posted: 10:45 AM on 03.12.03 |
| ->> I agreed! |
|
 
Preston Mack, Photographer
 |
Orlando | FL | USA | Posted: 10:46 AM on 03.12.03 |
->> Another reason to never use these people - This is found in their freelance photography section:
"All images will remain the property of Picture Stock and no further compensation will be given unless prior arrangements have been made with the assignment editor."
This is a real bad thing. Stay away. |
|
 
Geoff Miller, Photographer
 |
Portage | MI | USA | Posted: 11:20 AM on 03.12.03 |
| ->> Is this some off-shoot of the people that run the IFPO?!?!? |
|
 
Daniel Horan, Student/Intern, Photographer
 |
St. Bonaventure | NY | USA | Posted: 10:08 AM on 03.14.03 |
| ->> Wow, I just checked out that site...It has got to be one of the most bogus-looking scam-fests I have ever seen. If there is one word to sum up my opinion of it...SKETCH!! |
|
 
Craig Mitchelldyer, Photographer, Assistant
 |
Portland | OR | USA | Posted: 3:34 PM on 03.14.03 |
| ->> How nice, they ONLY charge .50 per image you submit to them. And $25 for the first 100 images. WHAT A DEAL! |
|
 
Ronald S. Martinez, Photographer
 |
Henderson | NV | USA | Posted: 7:06 PM on 03.14.03 |
->> Well,I've been with them for over (5) years now and nothing
zip zilch . They contacted me afew months back and said they were trying to reach me and that they had a client that wanted to buy one of my Photos and that I needed to sent them $25.00 and the release form so I could start getting paid I did all this and nothing happened so I contacted thm via e-mail and they said the client had gone with another photo which I think was alot of NOISE just to have Me send in money . I think Sportsshooters was and is the best INVESTMENT I have ever made .Thanks |
|
 
Brad Mangin, Photographer
 |
Pleasanton | CA | USA | Posted: 7:49 PM on 03.14.03 |
->> Ronald,
We are glad you have found our site and have taken the opportunity to learn from folks who have been in the business a little longer than you have.
Places like Picture Stock are an absolute joke. People like this really make me angry because all they do is take advantage of nice people like yourself who haven't had the education and/or real world experience yet in your young career to smell a rat like them when you come across one.
You NEVER EVER have to pay an agency ANYTHING. They pay YOU- that's how it works.
Keep reading, keep learning and good luck! |
|
 
Michael Proebsting, Photographer
 |
Barrington | Il | USA | Posted: 11:55 PM on 03.14.03 |
->> There are actually a couple of different "agency's" that operate in a similar fashion as Picturestock.com Another one I believe is a scam is fotopress.com
If anyone has had a positive experience in any way, shape or form with this organization, I would like to know. My advice, STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!! |
|
 
Robert Dall, Photographer
 |
Portage la Prairie | MB | Canada | Posted: 12:27 AM on 03.15.03 |
->> I was looking for information on International News Services or INS out of Japan and found they were also not photog friendly. I didn't lose any images to them, I am re-mentioning it so hopefully you don't either.
They also go by Gingapress I believe |
|
 
Brad Mangin, Photographer
 |
Pleasanton | CA | USA | Posted: 12:37 PM on 04.23.03 |
->> I just got my first SPAM from the FRAUDS at Picture Stock.
What a bunch of losers.
It wasn't quite as fun as getting a letter from Pedro The Spanish Boy...but now I feel a little more included.
STAY AWAY FROM THESE PEOPLE. |
|
 
Thomas E. Witte, Photographer
 |
Cincinnati | OH | USA | Posted: 1:33 PM on 04.23.03 |
| ->> he he he... I got mine this morning. Now if Pedro would just send me something I can die a happy man. :) |
|
 
Sam Morris, Photographer
 |
Henderson (Las Vegas) | NV | USA | Posted: 3:47 PM on 04.23.03 |
| ->> I checked, and these morons are listed with the Better Business Bureau. Anyone who has been scammed by them can report them at http://complaints.bbb.org/Welcome.asp |
|

|| Sponsor Special Deals

Canon EOS 1D Mark IV Digital SLR Camera
|
Available from:
Samy's Camera
|
Price: $4999.95 |
Notes:
Call Samy's for a special SportsShooter.com price. (Not the price listed here.) You MUST mention the website for the special deal. Call: 866-726-9463. Don't buy through the website - CALL instead.
|
|
-- More Info -- |
|

Return to --> Message Board Main Index
|